Whiskey, Wine, & Writing

Write Drunk, Edit Sober

Shiloh Walker Recap

Monday, September 14th, we were joined by the fantastic SHILOH WALKER, the award winning author of the FBI Psychic series, the Secrets & Shadows series, and so many more! We were honored to have her join us to talk about her novels, her writing process, and give us an inside glimpse into her creativity.  Her kids got codenames behind the scenes to remain anonymous and there’s a great story about the souvenir. Shiloh is not only a fantastic author, but a vivacious personality. We are so grateful to have had her on the show! Check out the interview with her below and watch the video below. Her newest novel, HEADED FOR TROUBLE is due out in December.

shilohad

INTERVIEW

1.) Tell us a little bit about yourself:

Wellll…. I write.  I also take care of kids and I adore my husband and I read a lot of books and take a lot of pictures and I go to church and as much as I hate it, I go to the gym.  

2.) What novels inspired you growing up?

The first book to really suck me in was Bunnicula.  Vampire bunnies are awesome.

3.) What was your debut novel?

Her Best Friend’s Lover

4.) What drew you to the genres you write in?

I love happy endings and I love kick-butt characters.  So I guess that’s why I’m drawn to romance and urban fantasy. Also, it’s therapeutic to kill things…on paper.  Again urban fantasy.  People die in my romantic suspense sometimes, too.

5.) What are you working on now?

I’m finishing up the third book in my McKay series and working on my next Colbana book, as well as some side projects.

6.) Are you a plotter/pantser/plantser?

By nature, I’m a pantster.  I tend to plot a bit more when it comes to my suspense trilogies, but they are naturally more complicated.

7. ) How long does it take you to write a rough draft?

I don’t do rough, 1st, 2nd, 3rd drafts per se.  I write the book, edit as I go and then I’m done.  And how long…well, until it’s done.

8.) Do you write linearly?

Yes.  Absolutely.

9.) What has your favorite moment as an author been?

Signing at a store with Nora Roberts.  

10.) What has your worst experience as an author been?

Almost knocking a card stand over on Nora Roberts…while signing at her store.  Okay, not really.  Have my publishing house tell me they weren’t going to be able to continue with any paranormal series of mine.  Sales were down and they just couldn’t do it.  It gutted me.

11.) What tip would you give aspiring authors?

Finish your first book. Then write the next one and finish it.

Tell us a little bit about HEADED FOR TROUBLE

It’s fun…Neve…aka Trouble…has come back home after ten years and a separation from her siblings.  She’s looking for some peace and sanctuary and what she finds is Ian.  He’s a hot and sexy handful and not exactly peaceful, but he’s kind of hard to resist.

Anything else you’d like to mention?

Check out Headed for Trouble… it was fun!

About The Author

????????????????????????????????????Shiloh Walker is an award-winning writer…yes, really!  She’s also a mom, a wife, a reader and she pretends to be an amateur
photographer.  She published her first book in 2003. Look for her newest project…Thirty Nights with a Dirty Boy, coming this fall.

She writes romantic suspense and contemporary romance, and urban fantasy under the name J.C. Daniels.

Website * Twitter * Facebook

 

About Natasha Raulerson

Natasha Raulerson grew up as a tomboy hanging with the guys, getting skinned knees, and swimming in the South Florida sun. Though she’s more inclined to wear dresses now, she still prefers a good pair of chucks and comfy pair of jeans. Tattoos, Jack Daniels, and hanging at the pool are three of her favorite things. An author of adult romantic suspense, she’s represented by the amazing Laura Bradford of The Bradford Literary Agency. By day she writes about the characters driving her imagination wild. By night she enjoys a good book, hanging with her hubs, and getting snuggle attacks from her two spoiled pups. Follow her on twitter: @RaulersonWrites

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2015 by in Season Three, Web Cast and tagged , , , , .
